Material stuff.

This video explains the mythos behind the Hermes Birkin bag. I’m posting it because Katy owned a Birkin. As I’m writing this I’m wondering what happened to it after she passed away, and realising I am probably a terrible person for even thinking about such a thing. I would guess, that she sold it to pay her rent. That seems the most plausible thing. If she did still have it, I expect the landlord gave it to a charity shop with the rest of her stuff when he cleared out the apartment. I feel a bit sick even just thinking about this. When someone in their twenties dies your brain can’t really process it properly, and you just think of them as being away somewhere. I suppose I deal with it by thinking about trivial things like what handbag she used to carry. After she died I became kind of obsessed with these little details from her life, it’s my tribute to her.

I’m off to do a meditation now. Big fan of Tara Brach. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHhDCW4Q1Rc

2 thoughts on “Material stuff.

  1. I have a Birkin. (Just kidding!!!) But I have had people find my blog looking for Birkin bags but Googling “Bikram” in error. Pretty funny. Nice tribute. 🙂

  2. When someone in their twenties dies your brain can’t really process it properly, and you just think of them as being away somewhere.

    I know what you mean. I had a friend who died in a car crash from drinking too much. All of us were in our late 20s, and the whole thing was so absurd and hard to swallow. We all went to his apartment and divvied up his belongs as a momento, and I still have a pair of ping-pong paddles on my bookshelf that once belonged to him. I admit I still think about him every time I pick them up.

    Such is the fragility of life.

    http://japanlifeandreligion.com/the-fragility-of-life/

Leave a Reply

