Theft

I must have fallen asleep. I was woken by my phone ringing. It was Gina. “Where the hell are you?” she asked. My back was sore from sleeping in the chair. I was still dressed and it was light outside. “It’s half past nine, I was worried about you,” she said.

I’d never been late for work before. I struggle with a lot of things, bad attitude, authority figures, caffeine addiction, poor taste in men. But I’m pretty damn good at being on-time for stuff.

“Sorry, fuck, am I in trouble?”

“No, it’s ok, everyone’s out at meetings.”

“Ok. I’ll get there as soon as I can, just say I had a family emergency.”

“What happened?” asked Gina,

“Katy….fuck, where is she,” I realised she wasn’t in the bed. “She’s probably just in the kitchen,” I said, realising that if she was walking around she must be ok.

“I’ve got to go,” I said to Gina, “I’ll see you at the office.” I hung up and went to look for Katy. She wasn’t in the flat, but she had left a note in the kitchenette. Had to go to the set, didn’t want to wake you. Katy. xx

I had forgotten that she was supposed to be working on a film. It baffled me that she managed to fit this around her partying. From what I know film work is pretty demanding. You can’t be late, props and costumes and actors have to be in the right place at the right time, and you’re not allowed to go home until the director’s got the scene as they want it.

I’d not had a chance to ask her, but I think around that time Katy was trying to make plans to leave Fraser, and move out of the apartment which he owned.

I showered quickly, put on a fresh change of clothes, and left for work. I knew Connie would be ashamed of me, but I decided to treat myself to a cappuccino from the kiosk by the metro. There was no cash in my bag. The cab fare had been expensive, but there had been another forty dollars or so left for housekeeping and lunches. Angry, I went down to catch my train without coffee, and arrived at the office in a foul mood.

Later that day I called some of the film people I knew, to see if there was any news of Katy. She was fine, had got to the set in one piece, and apparently was making plans to stay with a guy called Adrian Roth, a businessman who owned several bars in the city. Apparently she had been a consultant designer on one of his re-fitting projects, but I had no idea what they meant by this. Firstly, Katy was not an interior designer, and secondly there was no way she would have had time to do that project on top of her filming schedule and her essays for Uni.

I wanted to spend the day sleeping, and checking up on Katy’s friends, but I was swamped with work. I scribbled a note in my pad: Adrian Roth, nightclubs, who is he????? Why is he helping Katy????? 

2 thoughts on “Theft

Leave a Reply

